Elliott School of International Affairs

Building Leaders for the World


School Spotlights

After US Troops Leave, Volume 44 Issue 3, Fall 2021

The Washington Quarterly Fall 2021 Issue is Live

The Fall 2021 issue of The Washington Quarterly is live! In the feature section, After US Troops Leave, authors discuss how
the US can leverage access to change its global force posture and why the US loses wars while Russia and Iran win.

The China-Russia Connection is also explored by five articles aimed at understanding the nature of the relationship, how it can be weakened, the threat posed by Russia, and how each country manipulates information to achieve strategic goals.

Plus, will North Korea deploy tactical nuclear weapons, and what would that mean for escalation on the Korean peninsula? And what measures should Tokyo consider to reinvigorate Japan’s economic statecraft?

GW 200 Bicentennial logo

GW Celebrates 200th Anniversary

This year, the George Washington University celebrates its 200th anniversary. GW’s bicentennial is an incredible, historic milestone. February 9, 2021 is officially the 200th anniversary of when the United States Congress established our university’s charter in 1821. GW's bicentennial kicks off an eight-month long celebration to recognize GW's generations of progress. Visit the GW Bicentennial website to learn more about the celebration.



Onward GW



Onward GW: Return to Campus and the Classroom

The Elliott School is excited to welcome students, faculty and staff to campus this fall. Learn more about the steps GW and the Elliott School are taking to prepare for your arrival to campus, including updating our public health protocols and reviewing and updating our buildings and classrooms.

Learn more about GW's fall plans   COVID-19 Resources




Elliott School at a Glance


Bachelor's Degree Programs


Master's Degree Programs


Visiting Scholars per Year


Events per Year Hosted at the Elliott School


International Exchange Program Partners


Explore Our Programs



Jacob Winn

Jacob Winn

BA International Affairs and Political Science, Dean's Scholar, Class of 2021

"I have always loved politics, political science, and international affairs, and so the prospect of choosing my own research path that would combine all of those areas was my top priority.

In the Dean's Scholars Program, I am researching the influence of the Brexit movement, referendum, and EU withdrawal politics on the British Conservative Party, which has allowed me to combine all of my broader passions."

Educating the Next Generation of Leaders







Connect with @ElliottSchoolgw